Friends, welcome to a new episode of the Saturday Frights podcast – with this second episode of season three – we are continuing with the theme of science fiction/horror films. That is why today the Projectionist and I have tackled 1997’s Event Horizon – which was directed by Paul W.S. Anderson (Mortal Kombat, Resident Evil) and features a stellar cast with the likes of Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix), Sam Neill (Jurassic Park, Peaky Blinders), and Jason Isaacs (Star Trek: Discovery) to name just a few. While I do mention it in the podcast itself – it is my firm belief that Event Horizon should have done far better at the box office when it was originally released on August 15th of 1997.

As always we have done our level best to shine the spotlight on those in front of and behind the camera. I was able to find some very interesting anecdotes concerning Event Horizon – with two articles in particular that I mention in the show itself – those come from /Film as well as The Ringer.

The Projectionist and I give a full synopsis for Event Horizon while hopefully not hitting you over the head with every minor plot point. Much as with the Alien episode of the podcast – this show is nearly an hour in length – which means that the Projectionist didn’t bring that many audio treats for your listening pleasure.

If you have any suggestions for topics you would like for us to cover in a future episode -or possibly you have comments on the current show itself, email them to me at VicSagePopCulture@gmail.com You can also contact me on Twitter and on Facebook. In addition I certainly hope you will take the time to visit the Saturday Frights Facebook Page. There you can find posts from Rockford Jay, Preston Griffith and myself on a daily basis.

We certainly hope you are enjoying the third season of the Saturday Frights podcast so far – grab your favorite snack and beverage and prepare to confront the horrors of Event Horizon.

Subscribe to the Saturday Frights Podcast:

[iTunes] Subscribe to the Saturday Frights Podcast (MP3)

Directly download the Saturday Frights Podcast:

Episode Mirror #1 (MP3)

Published by Vic Sage

An avid devotee to pretty much all things retro and retro related - I love to share my memories and passion for films, comics, gaming, podcasting... and curiously enough my overwhelming desire to never stop eating beef jerky.

Leave a comment